Reviews for Villa Olivade | Saint Paul de Vence

HomeAway Property
Read or Write Reviews
Trip Advisor

Review Submitted by Karen R: Mar 18, 2017 Date of Stay: Mar 2017 Source: HomeAway

Beautiful villa with a gorgeous setting above countryside and sea

We had a wonderful stay at Villa Olivade in early March. It is the perfect holiday home, comfortable and charming, perched high above the landscape with views of the Mediterranean. David was such an excellent and helpful host, and provided many details about the villa and the surrounding area. The kitchen was equipped with every possible tool for preparing occasional meals -- such as just-caught fish from Cagnes-sur-Mer and local markets. The supremely comfortable bed, lovely linens, large towels, and bathrobes were elegant. Sitting outside on the various terraces amongst flowering plants, rosemary, and olive and pine trees was a treat, and the weather was warm and sunny. We enjoyed day trips to Menton, Eze, Nice, Villefranche-sur-Mer, Tourrettes-sur-Loup, and a short ferry ride to Ile Saint-Honorat. Lunch on the patio at La Colombe d'Or and a visit to the Fondation Maeght were a festive end to the week. A lovely visit!

Homeaway website

Review Submitted by Lindus S: Apr 13, 2017 Date of Stay: Mar 2017 Source: HomeAway

Just fantastic

We received a wonderfully complete brief about the villa before we left the UK. The villa was exactly as described, quiet with brilliant views all around. Internally it was spacious, light, well equipped and a joy to be in. The locality was an ideal base for tours inland or down to the coast. We thoroughly recommend the villa and the helpful owner; can't wait to revisit.

Homeaway website


Review Submitted: Sep 5, 2016 Date of Stay: Aug 2016 Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway

The property is very good located close to the sea and the amazing and beautiful village Saint Paul de Vence. The apartment is very classic designed in a provencial style. There is everything what is needed to spend a comfortable holiday including full equipped kitchen, spacious living room and cozy and charming bedroom. There are two levels of terraces which let us to choose the most appropriate place for relax. The most amazing views from the balcony near the living room and the bedroom gave us an additional incentive to drink early morning coffe or the glass of wine at the evenings. It was very relaxing and soothing.

In the village Domaine du Piol is located very large swimming pool dedicated to common use but very quiet. We could relax and sunbathing between sightseeing the Provence. This part of Provence is beautiful. There are so many intersting places we visited during our stay especially the the Town of artists Saint Paul de Vence which is located very close to the property.

I recommend the property to any other visitors. It worth the money we have spent for sure.

Homeaway website

Review Submitted: Aug 24, 2016 Date of Stay: Aug 2016

Great property and brilliant views


A very nice property and would recommend any couple to holiday there. Views are fantastic and location is easy walking distance to St Paul. Everything worked in the property and the shared pool is enormous. Only issue we had was the fridge / freezer was too small so had to shop more than we wanted. Had a great week there.

Homeaway website

Review Submitted: Aug 10, 2016 Date of Stay: Jul 2016

Wonderful Villa, Amazing Location

We had a one week stay in the villa and absolutely loved it. The villa was well equipped and very comfortable and the outside space was fantastic. It's elevated positions means fantastic views and great privacy. It is also a great spot for exploring the local area .......... if you can drag yourself away from the sun lounger :-) We will certainly be returning!

Homeaway website

Review Submitted by Jenny S : 3rd Novemeber 2015

My husband and I stayed here on a vacation to the French Riviera. The home is the perfect size for two people with a large bathroom and lovely kitchen with all the amenities you need. The highlight is the terrace. We enjoyed all of our breakfasts overlooking the sun spill across the valley and farm land and several homemade dinners sitting out under the stars. The space is clean, the bed is SO comfortable and white, the windows offer in so much light and view. What a magical place. We will hold this home in our memories and hearts forever. (And we will hopefully return soon!)

Holiday Rentals web site

Review submitted: 2nd June 2015

An excellent location bordering on the Southern Alps with a stunning view towards the Mediterranean. Local facilities within a few minutes drive as well as historical location of St Paul de Vence just a stones throw away. The villa was very well provided for including Internet and lots of local information. The owners were particularly helpful to us as keen cyclists and advised us in some detail about routes and local attractions. I would highly recommend this villa to anyone wishing to visit the Nice and Monaco region.

Holiday Rentals web site

Review Submitted by Jenepher : June 19 Date of Stay: June 2014

Fabulous place to stay for a week - stunning views from the balconies and windows - an oven for a home cooked meal from local ingredients - calming walk to the local village - so much history - Lunch at La Colombe d'Or - day trips to the coast and a choice of stunning villages to visit - Art everywhere - The Owner of this Villa was so obliging with our questions -
We enjoyed such a romantic week here in Provence - would highly recommend.
Amicalement - J and R, Sydney, Australia

Trip Advisor & Holiday Lettings web site

Review Submitted by Judith : March 24 Date of Stay: March 2014

"Perfect house, perfect location, perfect service"

If you're looking for a charming, immaculately maintained small house close to the French Riviera but far enough away from its congestion to enjoy the vistas and the nearby mountains and their perched villages, the Olivade at Domaine de piol is the ticket to a perfect holiday. The charming house has every convenience in small, pampering its guests with sumptuous bedlinens, slippers, robes, soft towels. But its best feature is its location perched on a hill above the Riviera, with views of the mountains, the distant sea, the fields and holiday homes in an undulating landscape. Oh, and did I mention the sunsets?

Our host was attentive, informative, responsive to each query, helpful at every turn. There is so much to do in the vicinity. St. Paul de Vence is a 5 minute drive up the road, with restaurants, cafes, shops, and best of all, twisting medieval streets. The drives in the mountains are a bit hair-raising and worth the thrill of spectacular views. More perched villages beckon. And within an hour the other way you can be in Monaco, or grab lunch in Italy. After such rich diversions, it's still a pleasure to come back to the villa, stretch out on the terrace lounge, or cook up a light dinner to eat on the balcony while you watch the sun set.

There is no better view than the one out the French doors of the living room and also the bedroom. The house and environs is everything it is written up to be and perhaps even more. We were there in the spring. The weather was sunny and warm, but not warm enough yet for the pool. Still, it's hard to believe summer could improve upon the time we had. A happy sojourn awaits anyone who stops here.

Holiday Rentals web site


Review Submitted on: August 2013 Date of Stay: August 2013

"Exceptional"

We are just back from our stay at villa olivade. It is in a great location with great views of the coast and a short walk to the picturesque village of St.Paul de Vence. The villa is kept very well. The kitchen is equipped with everything you would need. All the information provided to us before our stay was very useful and informative. The bed was very comfortable and we were very impressed at how charming the villa was. I really enjoyed my stay at villa olivade and would agree with the other reviews that it is in a safe and secure complex with other villas. I hope to return next summer.

Trip Advisor & Holiday Lettings web site

Review Submitted on: August 2013 Date of Stay: August 2013

"Superb villa with stunning views"

An outstanding villa within a private gated community provides an exceptional spot to relax and unwind. Set amid fantastic countryside, the extensive and pleasing scenery is surpassed only by the exquisite backdrop of St Paul de Vence yet a 10-minute drive, and you are at the beach. The owners were particularly helpful prior to and during the holiday and provided detailed knowledge of restaurants and places to visit which were as good as, if not better than, described. I rarely offer feedback as I expect value for money but felt compelled to write about a truly exceptional villa and location. We hired a large scooter to explore the mountains surrounding the villa but felt equally relaxed on the Villa's terraces and balcony. The generous and warranted reviews by former guests proved an accurate description of a villa with commanding views. It was well equipped and was within 2 kilometres of two large supermarkets. A perfect retreat either for those wishing to lose themselves in the serenity of the hills or for a family wanting to be located next to a great pool or within a short drive of the beach. We will be returning next year.

Trip Advisor & Holiday Lettings web site

Review Submitted on: July 2013 Date of Stay: July 2013

"Location, location, location!"

You wont find a better place for a self catering holiday. The villa is so close to the buzz of the Cote d'Azur in Cannes and Nice but in a quiet oasis. The views from Villa Olivade are absolutely stunning and the pictures do not do it justice. The villa has everything you need for a relaxing holiday. We ate in more times here than we usually do because of the views from the terraces.
We are golfers and found some really good golf courses nearby which weren't too extortionate. After a good (and warm) round of golf we loved going back to St Paul de Vence for a beer and glass of rose in the Café de la Place to watch the guys play boules.
The walk into St Paul de Vence was as stated in the details as a leisurely 20minute walk and whilst uphill it wasn't too onerous even in the heat. The only warning I would give is that it is quite a tight windy road and the traffic can travel fast but David provided a torch for when its dark which I would definitely recommend you use it so the traffic can see you if you are walking home late.

Trip Advisor & Holiday Lettings web site

Review Submitted on: July 2013 Date of Stay: July 2013

"A lovely villa in a beautiful location - perfect place to unwind and relax"

We stayed at the Villa Olivade for a week in July this year and what a beautiful place it is!. Nestling in the hills with amazing views all the way to Antibes, it has the feeling of being secluded yet not isolated. It is possible to walk to St Pauls de Vence town in 20 minutes, or just relax on the balcony, prepare your own meals and listen to the crickets at night. Its a perfect base for exploring the Cote d'Azur. The villa is extremely clean, comfortable and very well equipped and decorated. Its also very spacious with plenty of living area, with modern bathroom and kitchen. The pool was lovely, and not too busy. We will definitely be going back again.

Trip Advisor & Holiday Lettings web site

Review Submitted on: July 2013 Date of Stay: July 2013

"Perfect in every way!"

My husband and I stayed in this villa for the first week in June and we were thrilled with our choice. It was beautiful and bright and contained everything you would need to make it feel like home. The views from 4 private decks were absolutely spectacular and were situated perfectly for practically every time of day! It was about a 15 minute walk into St. Paul - a charming town with lots of galleries and great restaurants. After walking most days for hours, we often drove to the town for dinner and parking was free after 8. St. Paul de Vence is an excellent base for day trips to Nice (20 minutes), Antibes, Eze, Monaco to name a few. The owner, David, was in contact by email when we had a question and offered us numerous suggestions for restuarants and sightseeing. Everything was perfect and we would highly recommend this accomodation.

Trip Advisor & Holiday Lettings web site

Review Submitted on: Jan 2013 Date of Stay: October 2012

"Relaxing holiday at Olivade"

We spent a very enjoyable few days at Olivade in October, we found the villa easily thanks to David's very good directions, and everywhere was very clean and tidy. The views from the balcony and the lower terrace are spectacular, we could have spent all our days just sitting there with fresh crusty baguettes, cheeses, pate and a bottle of wine, but decided to explore the surrounding area as the weather was still warm and sunny. St Paul de Vence itself is about a 20 minute walk away with some very nice bars and restaurants, so we were able to eat and drink there some evenings without having to drive (although we took a torch with us for the stroll home again at night). As the kitchen is well equipped, we decided to cook at the villa a couple of times to enjoy the fresh food that we picked up locally. There is also a swimming pool on the domaine, just a couple of minutes walk away from Olivade, which we didn't make use of during our stay but I'm sure would be most welcome in the very hot weather. The domaine itself is a very peaceful place, we hardly saw another person while we were there, it was easy to park the hire car outside the villa, and everywhere felt very safe because of the security gates at the entrance to the domaine. David and Sally-Anne had left information on the local area, plus instructions as to how everything in the villa worked, and also David's phone number if you need to speak to him. All in all a very relaxing break, and we would have no hesitation in going back again for a repeat visit!

Review Submitted by B Santelli : July 26 Date of Stay: July 2012

"Villa Olivade was fantastic!"

We spent the last week of June here. It was perfect. The owners have paid attention to all the details and genuinely want their guests to enjoy their stay at Villa. This is a comfortable villa, both private and yet open, simultaneously. It has a flexible and expansive living space both inside and outside, with 3 levels outside (upper balcony and two lower areas with chaise lounges, cushions, pergola, table and chairs, lots of plants). But its the views from each area that we loved! The upper balcony was our favorite (but we made good use of them all). It was great to have the outside spaces (because the weather is gorgeous), and each area is private -- we hardly saw a soul during our entire stay.

The interior furnishings were quite nice. The owners have created a very comfortable, tasteful, and liveable space for guests. Posters and artwork on the walls, and a nice overall ambiance. French doors/windows in every room that open up to awesome views, and allow the breezes and light in. There's A/C if you should need it (we didn't), as the villa stays quite cool. Flat screen TV, surround sound stereo (which we were too busy to use). There's also wifi, and David provides directions for how to access/use everything.

The bedroom has a comfortable King-size bed, french windows that open to the balcony and beautiful views, ample space in the closet and dresser, and even a table/desk, allowing a spot to put all our various "stuff" at the end of the day. The bathroom is fabulous, beautifully tiled, with an ingenious shower design.

There's a very nice working kitchen, with all the necessary cooking utensils, new range/cooktop, fridge, etc. to allow for making meals – We enjoyed eating outside, overlooking the distant Mediterranean and surrounding hills.

Great light, breezes, a fabulous panorama from the villa of the Mediterranean, rambling vistas, hills, abrupt stone mountains, stone walls... magnificent views of Saint Paul de Vence from Domain du Piol. Nice pool, and grounds -- you get a sense that you are walking around "history" here.

The villa is in a great location, convenient to supermarket, gas stations, etc. and especially to see historic art. It's very close to the galleries and shops of St. Paul de Vence (visit Cafe de la place to get into the rhythm of the area, over an espresso and baguette for breakfast). Visit Matisse's "Chapel of the Rosary", stunning in its simplicity and beauty. The Foundation Maeght, an excellent collection, with beautiful sculpture gardens and grounds. Within ½ hour are Vence, Antibes, Nice, Cannes, and all they have to offer (Picasso, Chagall, and Matisse Museums, the Modern Art museum and galleries of Nice). Thriving farmers markets, especially in Antibes and Old Town Nice; The Bay de Anglais and Promenade which fronts the Mediterranean and gorgeous beaches -- you can walk, run, rent bikes and go for miles). Visit the scenic towns of St. Jeannet, Tourrette Sur Loup, Biot, and Vallauris, to name a few. David and Sally-Anne provide an interactive "google map" of suggestions of what to do, where to eat, etc. Very helpful.

Villa Olivade was wonderful. We didn't want to leave. It was the perfect place to come back to at the end of the days sightseeing, open a bottle of wine, and relax and soak in the views and sunset.

One last thing -- the photo's the owners have posted are accurate!
Trip Advisor & Holiday Lettings web site

Review Submitted by M Winnik: June 19 Date of Stay: June 2012

"A Beautiful Mediterranean Villa"

We spent the first week of June 2012 at Olivade and could not have been happier. Besides the great weather, the Domaine du Piol development is impressive from first encounter and the grounds very well kept. It has a large swimming pool on a lower terrain level, and good views of the town of St Paul a short distance away. We even walked to St. Paul one evening. It's about 20 minutes away, some slight hills going, but all downhill back.

As for Olivade, it was perfect. The bedroom and living room are ample in size and the fully equipped kitchen more than met our needs for the nights we ate in. But the best was the patio outside, accessible through the living room or bedroom French doors. We had our breakfasts there every day and the sun rose over the roof line every morning at 8am bathing the table in warm early morning sunlight. And the view from the patio was exceptional, all the way to the Mediterranean.

The bathroom was roomy and an ingeniously designed shower stall, with movable glass walls, made the room even bigger.

The terrace below, accessible via a short flight of steps, is tranquil and surrounded by trees and plants that give it a tropical feel as well as a lot of privacy. We spent pleasant late afternoons laying on the chaise lounges, with the Western sun brilliantly warming us.

David, the owner, was also very accessible though he lives in Great Britain. We called him once for a question on the use of the cook top (called a 'hob' to the Brits) and he solved our question quickly. The interior of the house as well as the detailed PDF he supplied showed the care and attention he has lavished on it.

We would recommend Olivade without exception.
Trip Advisor & Holiday Lettings web site

Review Submitted by C Pankhurst: June 11 Date of Stay: May/June 2012

Villa Olivade absolutely met our expectations from the description and photos. It's lovely. The owner couldn't have been more helpful in supplying information and tips on where to go.
We spent a week there in May, lucky with the weather so spent hours over breakfasts and our evening bottle of wine on the balcony - just gazing at the amazing view. Lying in bed at night you can look out at this view and the lights across the valley - it's so relaxing.
The kitchen is well stocked with utensils - we did quite a bit of cooking and there was nothing we needed that wasn't there. It's a perfect base to explore the coastal towns of the Cote d'Azur and amazing scenery and hilltop villages inland.
Just 20 mins walk to St. Paul de Vence and you've got your perfect lunchtime Plat du Jour and people watching at the Cafe de la Place and we had a wonderful evening at La Colombe d'Or restaurant.
We would definitely go and stay at Villa Olivade again.
Trip Advisor & Holiday Lettings web site

Review Submitted by J McHale: June 08 Date of Stay: May 2012

Hi David, We absolutely loved your villa; it is so beautiful and everything was fantastic; I can not thank you enough for a wonderful vacation; I will recommend it to everyone I know!

I hope some day to be able to afford to go back! You are a very lucky person to be able to go there often. We loved all of your movies, and watch when the weather was bad , which was about 2 days.Thanks again for everything.
Via Email


Review Submitted by newlyweds Mr & Mrs Wale: May 23 Date of Stay: April 2012

David,

We hope you're well and have managed to enjoy your amazing property in St Paul De Vence!

We just wanted to email to say thank you for allowing us to stay in such an amazing property which made for such a fantasic Honeymoon! We thing the only problem is the photos don't quite tell the whole story of how unbelievable the place is! The rose petals on the bed, the wine in the fridge and the views to the sea were just out of the world so thank you again!

We will definitely be returning again at some point but thank you again for the fantastic hospitality you have shown!
Via Email

Review Submitted by J Mattieus: April 18, 2012 Date of Stay: March 2012

"Olivade St. Paul"

We had a wonderful time and were very pleased with the villa, including the exceptionally beautiful view, layout and great location. The villa was clean, comfortable, well maintained and has a lovely decor throughout. In addition the owner was very helpful throughout our booking process. All in all Villa Olivade is highly recommended!
Holiday Rentals web site


Review Submitted by JF Ancion: April 10, 2012 Date of Stay: September/October 2011

"Nice, quiet, intimate, ideal if you want a romantic getaway"

La villa des terrasses, aussi agréable en dehors que en dedans, nous a permis de passer deux semaines très agréables. L'intérieur offre une décoration chaleureuse et conviviale. Le mobilier, les bibelots, les éclairages intérieurs et extérieurs permettent de créer une ambiance très " cosy" pour les soirées. L'espace à vivre qui est déjà largement suffisant pour deux personnes est amplifié par de grandes fenêtres ouvertes sur une vue exceptionnelle que l'on peut contempler où que l'on soit dans l'appartement. Peut-être un petit défaut : on n' a pas trouvé le lave-vaisselle.
Holiday Rentals web site
Trip Advisor & Holiday Lettings web site

Review Submitted by Andrea L : October 10, 2011 Date of Stay: September/October 2011

"An amazing property with outstanding views."

We stayed at Villa Olivade for 6 nights and could happily stayed longer. After seeing the photographs of the property we had high expectations and were not disappointed. This is truly a beatuful place to get away from it all and yet is close enough to local amenities and the lovely St Paul de Vence. The interior and exterior of the property were immaculate and well maintained. We particularly enjoyed using the balcony off the living room and bedroom for breakfast and in the evenings. The views and sunsets were amazing, it was a lovely way to end the day. The information provided by the owners was very useful and accurate and help make our holiday stress free. The shared swimming pool is another advantage to this property and it was always very peaceful. Overall we had an amzing holiday, being able to visit NIce, Monaco, Cannes, Villefranche, Antibes etc from an ideally located base. We recommed Juan les Pins form a lovely sandy beach. We would stay at Villa Olivade agian and recommed it to anyone looking for a beautiful location, property, great views and excellent lbase for exploring.
Holiday Rentals web site
Trip Advisor & Holiday Lettings web site


Review Submitted by Steven A : October 11, 2011 Date of Stay: October 2011

Hi David, just a brief note to thank you for allowing us to stay in your wonderful villa.
 Janet and I had a fabulous week and found it really hard to leave, the villa was very much home from home and had everything you could possibly need for an extremely relaxing holiday in a stunning location. The biggest decision was which terrace to take lunch from! The big let down was of course the Rugby, I gave up at half time!
 
I'm sure we'll be back.
 Thanks and regards.
 
Steve & Janet
Via Email


Review Submitted by Jean François A : September 23, 2011 Date of Stay: August/September 2011

La villa des terrasses, aussi agréable en dehors que en dedans, nous a permis de passer deux semaines très agréables.
L'intérieur offre une décoration chaleureuse et conviviale. Le mobilier, les bibelots, les éclairages intérieurs et extérieurs permettent de créer une ambiance très " cosy" pour les soirées. L'espace à vivre qui est déjà largement suffisant pour deux personnes est amplifié par de grandes fenêtres ouvertes sur une vue exceptionnelle que l'on peut contempler où que l'on soit dans l'appartement.
Peut-être un petit défaut : on n' a pas trouvé le lave-vaisselle.
Trip Advisor & Holiday Lettings web site

Review Submitted by David M: August 27, 2011 Date of Stay: August 2011
We stayed at Villa Olivada in St. Paul de Vence for 8 days and enjoyed every one of it. The villa's greatest asset is the magnificent view, overlooking the surrounding valleys and hillsides, offering even a view of the Mediterranean. Inside the house everything is designed with great care and good taste, and the large balcony windows make the villa appear larger than it is. A fairly large pool, shared with the neighbouring villas, is nearby. Luckily, we never found the poolside crowded. Villa Olivada, moreover, is only a 20 minute drive from Nice and a 30 minute drive from Cannes, where we spent most of our days but were always happy to return to St. Paul for the night. Throughout our booking process, the owner was helpful and able to recommend activities in the area. All in all, Villa Olivada is a stylish place for a romantic getaway, highly recommended.

Review Submitted by Jason Q: August 18, 2011 Date of Stay: August 2011

We got back to the US last night...had a great time. Your villa was great, really liked the area and the views.
Via Email